In Which I Reassure Zaram That He is Very Special

*Enters blog with a long broom,  begins to clear off cobwebs from the roof and walls.  

Dave stands outside,  arm akimbo watching; Zaram stands with him a questioning expression on his face; Michael ventures in, “Mum,  can I help?” I dodge a gross cobweb and cough slightly, “You can get a broom and start sweeping from that  end”. Michael hurries off.  

“How long is this gonna take?” 

That was Zaram of course, “I wanna watch TV.”

I ignore him and keep cleaning.  No way I’m posting anything without cleaning this pace out first.*

It’s been two years since I posted anything on this blog.  Soooooooo much has happened.  For one thing,  the boys have all grown into adolescence and teens.  I can confidently predict mostly how each would react to a given situation (well,  most of the time). Dave is choosing his own path. And his brothers are trying to find theirs. Dave wants to be a comic artist.  I shared one of his characters on my Twitter and most people thought it was awesome. What do you think?

But this post is not about Dave,  it’s about Zaram ☺ who is currently in secondary school and is working so hard at his reading. If you ever had trouble pronouncing basic words when all your mates were reading fluently,  you’d understand his struggles 😞. But this is not a sad post. 

So the other day Zaram was being… well, Zaram.  I got tired of the screaming from the room and Dave threatening to “murder” him as older brothers are wont.  So I asked him to come out of the room and sit in the living room with me (more for his personal safety than for any need for company).  Anyway, he joins me and becomes such a distraction that I ask him to go pick out a book from the library,  read two paragraphs and write down any words he does not know. 

He gets to work  and soon,  I abandon my writing project as we begin working together on a reading session. He eventually makes a nine word list which he ends up pronouncing almost by himself. In working with him,  I have found that he needs extra concentration to get words right.  And concentration is not a commodity he enjoys trading on. He’ll be first to say “I’m bored” or “I can’t do it”  or “It’s too hard”. 

At the end if the session, I saw he was strained and drained and I decided a pep talk was totally in order. 

“Do you know you are special?” I began. 

He shakes his head,  looking at the floor. 

“Look at me,  look into my eyes.”

He looks up and into my eyes. 

“Let me tell you why you are special.”

I proceeded to remind him of how he overcame every milestone in his life: holding his head straight,  crawling,  walking,  running,  talking,  holding a pencil,  writing and now he is reading (yeah it still needs a bit of work but oh gloray, he can string words and stop to think what it means and try to use context to figure out words he can’t say. I know he is on the right path) 

“Do you understand now why I say you are special?”

He looks at me,  smiles that mischievous smile and nods.  I reward him with a hug (Yeah,  still not a hugger but neither am I a nurse,  cook,  cleaner,  counselor…yeah you get my drift) 

I let him go and join his brothers hoping they will be at peace long enough so I can finish writing the treatment I am working on. 

*Sit to rest after cleaning,  Dave Saunders in carrying his drawing materials and heads into his room.  Zaram steps in sneezing,  “Mum can we put on the gen?” I reward with a scowl (This boy does not understand fuel is now 145/litre) He gets the drift.  Michael turns to me,  “Mum can I make pan cakes? Pleaaaaaase???”*

                           ————-

Enjoy,  your week guys! Please leave a comment if you are glad to have us back. And if this is your first time visiting,  tell us what you think! 

6 comments

    1. Hahahaha. Thanks Jite. I look up to Dave now, literally… It’s not funny cos now when he calls me “smallie mummy” , I actually feel small 😦

  1. *sneezing* I don’t believe the dust has been entirely eliminated. There’s need for more cleaning.

    Welcome back. 😙

Leave a Reply

